Day: April 20, 2017

Stop Judging Treatment Choices

I find it very annoying that some people become so negative about someone else’s treatment choices.  I feel everyone has the right to decide what is best for them and it’s really rude and disrespectful to trash or put down something someone else decides to do.  Especially if the person says it is helping them.  It’s like everything in life.  Just because it’s not your choice DOES NOT MEAN IT IS WRONG!

This happens in real life and on social media.  Some people on social media just sit behind their computer and spew out hate and negativity towards someone that is either different from them or is doing something different from what they would do.

A Double Blind Study is Not Always Needed

I am particularly annoyed when someone dismisses and says that your treatment choice  is wrong because the treatment has not been published in a journal or that there are no double blind studies.  Or that the FDA has not approved it for “such and such” disease.  Or they state that the information they found is mostly anecdotal and no scientific research has been done on it so it should not be done.  HELLO?  Just because it isn’t published in your scientific journal and there have been no double blind studies on it does not mean it is wrong or not a valid treatment.

Eastern, natural, alternative or non-conventional medicine has been around a lot longer than western or modern medicine.  In fact, big pharmaceutical companies make synthetic drugs to replicate a natural medicine.  The only reason is money.  The FDA has approved 2 synthetic drugs similar to the compounds in marijuana but won’t legalize marijuana.   They won’t approve medical marijuana because a drug company can profit from selling a synthetic one.  Why would you want synthetic when you can get the real thing!

Wake up people!

Not all FDA approved drugs, vaccines or treatments are safe and it’s maddening when people are so close-minded that they don’t see this and think alternative or natural medicine is quackery.  Think about Chiropractors, Acupuncturist, Reiki Healers and Chinese Medicine.  So many people have negative opinions about them but so many people have been helped by them so why would you be against it.  Think about opioid medications.  So many people have negative opinions about anyone taking them but some people like me can’t function without them.  So stop judging someone that takes opioids just because you don’t.  And stop thinking that everyone that takes opioids is an addict.  Think about medical marijuana.  So many people are uneducated about the benefits of marijuana and just think people are drug addicts or losers and just want to be stoned.  And stop trashing my implant!  I get 80% relief of the pain from my implant.  80%!  That’s HUGE!  Just because it isn’t right for you doesn’t mean you have to be so negative about it or put it down.   If a treatment choice doesn’t effect you than mind your own business!

Educate Yourself! 

Most people are not educated in the benefits of marijuana.  Most people are not educated in the fact that it is normal for anyone taking opioids for chronic pain to become dependent on them.   Most people do not know that dependency is completely different than addiction.  Diabetics are dependent on their insulin.   No one would ever consider taking insulin away from a diabetic person.   So stop taking opioids away from people that need it just to function more like a “healthy” person.  Most people have never even heard of neuro-stimulator implants.  And people that have heard of them for migraines have not heard about how different The Reed Procedure is.  My own Stanford doctor acted very unprofessional when I said I was going to do the trial for The Reed Procedure.  She did this because at the time she was not educated in neuro-stimulators for migraines.  She did not believe me when I mentioned the high success rate of The Reed Procedure.  Which is strange because when I did two 5-day inpatient stays for DHE (Dihydroergotamine migraine treatment) she told me about it having a high success rate and it didn’t work for me.

Why would you be against something just because you don’t know anything about it?

In the past 21 years, I have had numerous people suggest treatments to me for my migraines.  Most people suggest treatments based on their experience with it helping them or someone they know.  When I receive a suggestions I say thank you and if it is something that I have not tried nor heard of I do my own research and decide if I want to try it.  If it is something I don’t feel is right for me I just don’t do it.  I don’t tell the person who gave me the suggestions that they are wrong about it because there are no double blind studies.  

I also have suggested treatments that have have helped me to others.  My blog is really my way of trying to help others with migraines and/or Lyme Disease.   I write about my experience and what has helped me hoping that it might help someone else too.  If sharing my story about my implant and my lyme diagnosis after 19 years of chronic daily migraines helps one person then I have met my goal.  

My conclusion:

  • When someone sends you a suggestion you should just accept it as a nice thoughtful gesture.  You have the right to decide if you want to try it but you do not need to send your conclusion back to that person.  In fact, don’t send anything back at all but a thank you.  
  • If you are not open to eastern, natural, alternative or non-conventional medicine that’s ok because it’s your choice.  But don’t dismiss anyone that uses a treatment you don’t want to use.
  • Try to keep an an open mind to different treatments and don’t tell others their treatment is wrong when they have said it has been helpful to them. Instead ask questions about it to learn more.
  • Don’t believe everything you read on the FDA, CDC or other government medical websites.
  • STOP JUDGING TREATMENT CHOICES