Chronic Pain Sucks!, Migraine and Headache

#ChronicPainSucks: Part V


In between doctor visits I saw my PCP who put me on Nortriptyline to help the pain.  It’s an anti-depressant so at least I’m not becoming depressed from all of this pain.  Nortriptyline took one month to work and helped for one week.  After one week I began waking up with burning pain again.  Now I was waking up with 4-6 level pain.  But, WHY do I have this pain?

The EMG came out fine; no nerve damage but I still don’t have answers.   Trying to find out what is wrong with you and going to see so many doctors is exhausting and overwhelming.

So I met with Dr. Smolins at Remedy Medical to plan the next steps.  Dr. Smolins couldn’t  figure out what was wrong with me and didn’t want to just keep giving me pain meds.  He doesn’t work that way.  Which is good because I want answers.  I really felt that something deep inside me was wrong.

**On my first visit to the Rheumatologist I asked her if I possibly had Lyme disease.  She immediately asked if I got bit by a tick.  I said I don’t remember getting bit so she said NO you don’t have Lyme disease. ** 

So I told Dr. Smolins that I think I have Lyme disease.  He recommended going to Dr. Stricker in San Francisco, Dr. Stricker and he wanted me to see a neurologist Dr. Newkirk for other possibilities.

Why did I think I had Lyme disease?  My brother Dan has a friend that has it and the more I heard about her story the more I thought it was possible I had it.  And at this point the pain was crippling and without pain meds I couldn’t even walk.  So I contacted his friend Kelly and she thought I had it as well.

So lets find out…………………….

Leave a Reply

