#ChronicPainSucks: PART I


#ChronicPainSucks: PART I

After my neuro-stimulator implant in 2013 I thought I would be living life without chronic pain.  Nope!  Wrong!   Yes, my migraine pain is now managed using my stimulator but now I have burning and aching pain all over my body.  So my journey with the medical community continues and it’s REALLY frustrating, overwhelming, exhausting, annoying, depressing, discouraging, confusing and full of unwanted side effects. 

I’ve been to 6 MD’s:  YES, SIX!

AND 5 possible diagnosis’s: YES, FIVE!

First I went to my [1] Primary Care Physician (PCP) who started with a variety of blood tests that were negative so I was referred to a [2] Rheumatologist.  In April 2015, the Rheumatologist ran more blood tests and had me start Lyrica for the pain with the assumption that I had Fibromyalgia.  Well Lyrica didn’t agree with me so I had to stop taking it.  A few days later the rheumatologist emailed me and stated that all the blood tests came back negative.

Ok, great!  Now what?

So I went back to the Rheumatologist in May and was told I have Fibromyalgia.  If you are familiar with Fibromyalgia you know that it is a “catch all” medical condition.  There isn’t a test for Fibromyalgia so if you have any unexplained pain then you must have it.  WOW!

The Rheumatologist was not supportive at all.  She was ready for maternity leave and just wanted to pass me off to someone else.  After the second visit I ran out of pain meds.  I called her office and emailed them that I needed more pain meds on a Thursday.  Finally they called and said they would refill it for me.  While I was on the phone with them, they confirmed my pharmacy and said they sent it in.  THEY DIDN’T!  Unbelievable!!  Of course, that was Friday by then and they were gone at 5pm so I had to wait until Monday to get more pain medication.  I was so PISSED that I sent them a nasty email back.

They have no idea what it’s like to have level 8, 9 and 10 burning and aching pain all over your body.  They probably think I just want drugs.

To be Continued…….

Leave a Reply

