Chronic Pain Sucks!, Depression, Migraine and Headache

Chronic Pain and Depression


When my migraines first started in 1995 I began experiencing depression.  I never felt depressed before that.  I had no idea at the time that most people with chronic pain have depression.  I went to my primary care doctor and got Fioricet for the pain and Prozac for the depression.

I remember the first time I took Fioricet. I had no idea it had caffeine in it.  It was such a nightmare!  It didn’t help my level 10 exploding head pain AND I was wide awake.  I didn’t even think of going to the emergency room.  I just remember crying.  [What is Fioricet?  Per drugs.com:  Fioricet contains a combination of acetaminophen, butalbital, and caffeine. Acetaminophen is a pain reliever and fever reducer. Butalbital is in a group of drugs called barbiturates. It relaxes muscle contractions involved in a tension headache. Caffeine is a central nervous system stimulant. It relaxes muscle contractions in blood vessels to improve blood flow.]

I remember Prozac too: [Per drugwatch.com:  Patients taking Prozac may experience a host of side effects, including sexual dysfunction, dry mouth, nausea, headache, diarrhea, nervousness, restlessness, agitation, increased sweating, weight gain, insomnia and drowsiness.]  Strange how so many drugs have headaches as side effects.  I only took it for a few months and then switched to Zoloft.  [Per drugwatch.com:  Minor side effects of Zoloft that typically decrease after the first or second week of use include:, Nause, Diarrhea, Weight loss or gain, Increased sweating, Dizziness, Sleepiness or insomnia, Tremor, Dry mouth, Headache, Restlessness, Suicidal Thoughts, Sexual Dysfunction.  I didn’t stay on Zoloft very long either.

So if you are feeling depressed from all the head pain or just in general.  YOU ARE NOT ALONE

Check out NAMI, National Alliance on Mental Illiness.  

http://www.nami.org/Learn-More/Mental-Health-Conditions/Depression/Overview

Leave a Reply

